Award Season!

Hey there friends,

So over the past couple of weeks or so I was actually nominated for a Liebster award by two separate bloggers! As I’m fairly new to this whole thing it took a bit of googling and blog-skimming to find out what a Liebster award actually is and now I know I think that it’s so cool! This is such a neat way to share some love and awareness to new bloggers.

Because I’ve been nominated by two people I have two sets of questions to answer, and for the most part they’re different so I shall try to answer all of them.

If you’re like I was and you don’t know what a Liebster award is –  it’s an award for bloggers with less than 1000 followers to nominate other new, up-and-coming bloggers to spread awareness and appreciation for all the amazing (not-yet-famous) blogs out there.

award-rules
Stolen from Kaise Beauty.

So first of all I would like to thank both Kaise Beauty and In Becky’s Head for nominating me. These girls have beautiful blogs and I definitely recommend heading over and checking them out.

I would also like to mention that I was also nominated for a “Blogger Appreciation Award” by ‘Simply Etta D‘. Please head over and check out her blog as well!

Because I don’t want to clog up everyone’s feeds etc. I just wanted to combine all of these into one long but simple post. The requirements for the “Blogger Appreciation Award” are kind of similar to the Liebster award – they’re both basically about spreading the blogging love and so that’s what this post is all about. Sorry that the post is super long and congrats if you make it to the end!

Onto the good stuff:

11 facts about me:

  1. I am from New Zealand but currently go to university in America.
  2. I am also an Irish citizen and hope to live there someday.
  3. I play basketball for my college team here.
  4. I recently tore my ACL (ligament in my knee) this past season so this year I haven’t been doing that much playing. I’m currently 3 months out of surgery.
  5. I am an English major and an editor for my college newspaper.
  6. My boyfriend is Brazilian and we have been dating long-distance for over a year now (I met him here at university before he moved back).
  7. I love to travel and so far have been to: Australia, China, New Caledonia, Brazil, United States, Canada and Germany.
  8. Greece is my number 1 country on my travel to-do list.
  9. I have been studying German for almost 8 years now so I can kind of speak it but I really want to move to Germany for at least 6 months some time after I graduate here so that I can really nail it down. Since dating my boyfriend I have also started to learn a bit of Portuguese as well.
  10. I am super lazy. Like really really lazy. And messy – mess doesn’t bother me at all. That’s kind of why I started this blog (check out my about page for the whole story), however there are still times where I won’t get out of my sweats for a few days and that’s okay too (in moderation).
  11. I am a super nerd when it comes to English history and also Ancient Greece and Rome. However, I’m particularly obsessed with the Tudor time period and the War of the Roses eras – basically I love Phillipa Gregory and have read all of her books multiple times and consequentially love the time periods and people she wrote about.
  12. I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do when I graduate…but that’s okay, I kind of like it.

Questions from Kasie Beauty:

 1.What made you start blogging?

Writing a blog was something that I have toyed with doing for a long time now. I love writing and I do quite a lot of it already (being an English major and newspaper editor. I also write short blog posts for the university admissions site about my experiences here etc). I got to the point however where I felt like I was doing all this writing, but everything I wrote had some kind of restriction to it. I wanted a place where I could just write what I wanted to write and not have to think about any guidelines as I was doing it. I also got into watching Youtube videos in a big way and that definitely influenced me to start a blog. I look at these people and the amazing things they have done and I think to myself that there’s no reason I couldn’t do that too, so one day I thought why not.

2.What tips would you give for new bloggers or people thinking of starting up a blog?

Do it. If you want to do it then just go for it. But do it for yourself, and don’t be afraid to ease yourself into it slowly. Also social media is amazing, and it’s a great way to promote your blog and network with other people, but it can also be dangerous (in an addicting and not just there-are-creepy-people-out-there way) so just watch out.

3.How would you describe you own style and also your blog style?

I think my favourite word for this would have to be eclectic. It’s also a little bit messy, chaotic and all over the place. But I like that because it reflects me and that’s what I want both my style and my blog to do. I would say that my style is definitely a mixture of a whole load of things and it can change drastically day to day. I browse through other peoples blogs and Instagram feeds and see their beautiful, minimalist, pastel pretty aesthetics and I look at my own and wish it looked that cohesive and put together. But honestly I think if that was the me that I put out to the world, it wouldn’t be a true reflection of who I really am. I think it’s very easy to lose yourself online and that’s something that I am definitely very conscious of making sure I don’t do throughout this journey.

4.What do you use to take pictures on your blog?

My i-phone 5s but I really want to upgrade somehow. Unfortunately I also really want to shop and travel and eat delicious food all the time… it’s just a real struggle. Bottom line, I think I’ll probably be sticking with this as my main source for pictures for a while at least.

5.Do you use social media to promote your blog? If so what’s your favourite?

Yup, I’ve set up an Instagram and a Twitter (@alwayswilby). I’ve also set up a Bloglovin profile, a Pintrest and a Google Plus account but those are definitely not as well developed. I would say Instagram is probably my favourite to spend time on, but in terms of succesfully and directly promoting my blog I would say Twitter is more effective. I have also joined some groups on Facebook but I don’t feel all that comfortable with that because I use my personal account. Eventually I would also like to have a snapchat but that’s something I’m still contemplating.

6.Do you like to watch YouTube videos and if so who is your favourite channel  to subscribed to?

Definitely. I would definitely class myself as a YouTube fan. I love Zoella (doesn’t everyone?) and I find the SacconeJolys really relaxing to watch. I go through phases of enjoying other channels too. I recently started watching a couple of New Zealand and Australian YouTubers as well but I don’t think I love them as much yet as I do the UK ones.

7.Apart from blogging what are your other hobbies?

Is it bad to say that I feel like since coming to University I don’t have hobbies anymore? Maybe but I feel like it’s kind of true. Maybe I’ll just answer with things that I love to do – shopping, eating, lying in my bed doing nothing, going to the beach (I am a huge water baby, I would live at the beach if I could), meeting new people, hanging out with friends, playing basketball all that good stuff.

8.If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I wish my hair was the same natural golden that it was when I was younger. I also wish I had the ability to live and be in more than just one place at once…but I guess that’s not something I can change about me, that’s more a physics/time-travel type question.

9.Describe yourself in 3 words

Fun, loud, tall.

10.Favourite makeup brand you can’t live without? (I am a beauty blog after all)

Oooooh this one is definitely a toughie. I’m a high-street (drugstore) gal and my make-up collection is pretty small to say the least (although it is expanding at an alarming rate at the moment). I really only have 3 main brands – L’Oreal, Maybelline and Rimmel and I really don’t know if I can pick one over the other. Come back to me in a couple months and maybe I’ll do an updated version of this.

11.One beauty item you cant live without?

Thin Lizzy. No-one probably knows what this is but it is probably my all-time holy grail make up product. It’s a New Zealand brand and I’m obsessed with their  ‘6-in-1’ mineral powder. Basically it’s just a beautiful product that makes your skin glow and look healthy and beautiful and natural. I love it.

Questions from In Becky’s Head:

1.Why did you start your blog

Same as above.

2.Have you ever wanted to blog about something but not done it?

I have a lot of plans and ideas for this blog so there are definitely a lot of things that I want to write about and haven’t got around to doing. I know eventually I want to start writing more personal things about my life and me.

3.What was your favourite childhood movie?

This is such a tough question I don’t even know where to begin. I’m the kind of person who when asked any kind of question like this my brain just goes completely blank as if I never watched a movie in my entire life. I think I would have to say that I definitely loved Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and The Sound of Music but I also feel like I am forgetting a whole lot of movies that I loved just as much if not more.

4.What do you do to relax?

I like to spend a lot of time in my bed. Since coming to university I would say that I enjoy just taking a couple of hours to lie in bed, and watch videos or netflix and completely zone out. I love to read but with all the reading I do for classes etc. I find it doesn’t relax me like it used to.

5.Who’s your favourite author right now?

This is a tough one, mostly because I haven’t read a book just for pleasure in almost a year. The only books I’m currently reading are for my courses, which although I’m enjoying the classes I don’t think I can justify having a favourite author. I’m reading Euripides at the moment and enjoying his style of writing – I find it easier to read than Shakespeare anyway.
My favourite author of all time is definitely Phillippa Gregory. I know that wasn’t the exact question but I just really wanted to mention her because as I said earlier I am obsessed with all of her Tudor/Cousins War series.

6.What’s your biggest goal for 2016?

I have two but they kind of go hand in hand – or at least they do in my head anyway. The first is to recovery completely from my ACL surgery that I had 3 months ago – I want to be playing basketball again by November.
The second is to develop some healthier lifestyle and eating habits.

7.What’s your perfect holiday destination?

A beach somewhere, anywhere. Where it’s warm but not too hot that it’s uncomfortable to be outside.

8.Have you tried anything new lately?

Blogging! And creating public social media pages for the world to see – that’s definitely a new thing for me.

9.What languages do you speak?

English is my native language. I also speak German fairly well  and I recently started learning a bit of Portuguese too. I can say hello how are you and count in a couple of other languages too but that doesn’t really count.

10.Please name a female scientist without googling it (don’t worry, this is just me hi-jacking a fun quiz to satisfy my own curiousity – if you can’t name one I won’t judge).

Marie Curie? I am not a science person at all!

11. What’s your favourite creative outlet apart from blogging?

This is a really difficult one because I feel like I don’t actually have another creative outlet as such – or at least not one that allows as much freedom as blogging does. I do go through phases where I really like to paint – it’s not a consistent thing that I do, but recently I went through a phase where I really just wanted to paint and I enjoyed that.

The bloggers I nominate:

Talia Brooks – http://www.diaryofmycloset.com/ 

Saara Sofia – http://www.saarasofia.com/ 

Naghmen – http://www.thefashionistabubble.com/

Laura Nolan – http://fbl-savvy.blogspot.com/ 

Ebony Dixon – http://eboniivory.blogspot.com/

Andrea C. Da Silva – http://brasilnality.blogspot.co.uk/

Nichole – http://falluponglamour.com/

Sara Batchelor – https://sarabatchelor.wordpress.com/

Amy – https://boboandmimi.com/

Rebecca – https://itsrebeccacandy.wordpress.com/

Morgan Green – https://morganmillieblog.wordpress.com/

Talia – http://talia-talks.blogspot.co.uk/ 

Chloe – http://itsagirlthingblogging.com/

Jemini Wong – http://justjemini.blogspot.co.uk/

Annabelle Guilfoyle – http://bellaguilfoyle.com/

Kezia Baddiley – http://gingeybee.com/ 

So I know that’s more than 11 but I figured that technically I got nominated twice so I should be nominating 22 which I decided was just too much. I’m not 100% sure about the qualifications (ie. number of subscribers etc) of all of these blogs, but I really enjoy them and in the spirit of sharing the love from bloggers to bloggers I thought I would just put everyone in there, so check them out!

My questions for you:

1.Why did you start your blog

2.Who’s your favourite author right now?

3.What’s your biggest goal for 2016?

4.What’s the number 1 place on your travel wish-list? 

5.Have you tried anything new lately?

6.What languages do you speak?

7.How would you describe you own style and also your blog style?

8.Do you like to watch YouTube videos and if so who is your favourite channel  to subscribed to?

9.Describe yourself in 3 words

10.One beauty item/brand you cant live without?

11. What tips would you give anyone starting a blog? 

If you’re a reader and you made it all the way down to here I salute and thank you!

To my nominations- have fun and happy Blogging!

Love,
Wilbs

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I pinched a quote from this blog on my own Liebster Award blog – I linked and credited you, hope that’s okay 🙂 http://wp.me/p7cjR9-7f

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alwayswilby says:

      Hey yeah that’s totally fine! I feel honored in fact 😊❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations for the recognition! Its always nice to get noticed and know that you are doing something right!
    Zoe beau. xxx
    beaufoujewellerybox.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alwayswilby says:

      Thank you and yes it really is! I’m definitely feeling a lot of love right now and I am loving it!! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Eboni Dixon says:

    Hey,Loved reading this! Thank you for my nomination. I am about to write mine up 🙂 x eboni

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alwayswilby says:

      You’re welcome and thank you! Enjoy, it’s a really fun process x

      Like

  4. gingeybee says:

    Thanks so much for the nomination! You have a really beautiful blog ☺️ X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alwayswilby says:

      Aw you’re welcome and thank you! x

      Like

  5. Talia Brooks says:

    Thanks for the nomination Meaghan! I can’t wait to answer your questions and I really enjoyed reading your answers! Welcome to blogging, I know it’s a bit overwhelming at times but it’s definitely worth it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alwayswilby says:

      My please and thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed my post, and thanks for the warm welcome 🙂 x

      Like

    1. alwayswilby says:

      Thank you! I will check it out ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thankyou for the nomination!
    I’m the same as you when it comes to my photos. I really want to upgrade but don’t know when I’m going to get around to that.
    I’m so keen to travel to Greece. Hopefully next year I will !

    Good luck with your blog, I’m loving it xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. alwayswilby says:

      You’re welcome! I’m glad you enjoyed my blog as well 🙂 I know it’s so hard and I am terrible when it comes to managing money! Wow, I’m so jealous, that would be amazing ❤ x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

